Official forum for the radio station to discuss about the station, music and other topics.
 
HomeHome  CalendarCalendar  FAQFAQ  SearchSearch  MemberlistMemberlist  UsergroupsUsergroups  RegisterRegister  Log inLog in  

Share | 
 

 Currently reading...

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
so_says_the_phoenix

avatar

Posts : 109
Join date : 2015-07-27
Age : 28
Location : México DF

PostSubject: Currently reading...   Wed Jul 29, 2015 3:51 pm

This was once a topic in the old site, thought that we could adapt it here, to share what we're currently reading as well as books discussions.

Grandes Esperanzas (Great Expectations) - Charles Dickens
Back to top Go down
View user profile
JewelThrone
Admin


Posts : 293
Join date : 2015-05-25

PostSubject: Re: Currently reading...   Wed Jul 29, 2015 9:49 pm

That is a classic.

I am going to catch up with the Stephen King The Dark Tower series. I am a few behind.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://mangledmusicradio.forumotion.com
Cletus Awreetus-Awrightus

avatar

Posts : 36
Join date : 2015-07-27
Age : 39
Location : Leuven, Belgium

PostSubject: Re: Currently reading...   Thu Jul 30, 2015 12:09 am

Currently making my way through the "Zomblog Saga" by TW Brown. This is what's great about Kindle: 6 books for like a buck Wink

It's essentially a blog/diary about a zombie apocalypse, as you should've guessed. Doesn't really add anything to the zombie genre, at least so far, but it's entertaining enough if you enjoy the zombie/dystopean future type fiction.

After this I'll probably read "Shadow & Claw: The First Half Of The Book Of The New Sun" by Gene Wolfe.

BTW, I highly recommend the works of Mike Allen to anyone into weird/dark/horror fiction. Recently read his novel "The Black Fire Concerto" and a short story collection called "Unseaming", both of which are quite inventive. A must for fans of Laird Barron, Clive Barker et al.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
JewelThrone
Admin


Posts : 293
Join date : 2015-05-25

PostSubject: Re: Currently reading...   Thu Jul 30, 2015 6:28 am

I will check out the works of Mike Allen.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://mangledmusicradio.forumotion.com
so_says_the_phoenix

avatar

Posts : 109
Join date : 2015-07-27
Age : 28
Location : México DF

PostSubject: Re: Currently reading...   Thu Jul 30, 2015 10:00 am

JewelThrone wrote:
That is a classic.

I am going to catch up with the Stephen King The Dark Tower series. I am a few behind.

It's one of my favourite books. Smile

I never ever got into the Dark Tower series, is it recommendable?
Back to top Go down
View user profile
alex78



Posts : 180
Join date : 2015-07-27
Age : 38
Location : Where dark and light don't differ

PostSubject: Re: Currently reading...   Thu Jul 30, 2015 10:12 am

so_says_the_phoenix wrote:
Quote :


I never ever got into the Dark Tower series, is it recommendable?

The first one one is quite entertaining, though not among his best works, in my opinion. Haven't read the rest.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
so_says_the_phoenix

avatar

Posts : 109
Join date : 2015-07-27
Age : 28
Location : México DF

PostSubject: Re: Currently reading...   Thu Jul 30, 2015 10:17 am

In regards to Stephen King, I liked Christine and Carrie.

El Resplendor (The Shining?) was better than the movie, and Eso (It) was bloody brilliant.

Don't believe that I've read anything else by him.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
alex78



Posts : 180
Join date : 2015-07-27
Age : 38
Location : Where dark and light don't differ

PostSubject: Re: Currently reading...   Thu Jul 30, 2015 10:28 am

My faforites are It, Misery and Needful Things.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
JewelThrone
Admin


Posts : 293
Join date : 2015-05-25

PostSubject: Re: Currently reading...   Thu Jul 30, 2015 10:38 am

so_says_the_phoenix wrote:
JewelThrone wrote:
That is a classic.

I am going to catch up with the Stephen King The Dark Tower series. I am a few behind.

It's one of my favourite books. Smile

I never ever got into the Dark Tower series, is it recommendable?

The Dark Tower is a great series. Read those books!
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://mangledmusicradio.forumotion.com
so_says_the_phoenix

avatar

Posts : 109
Join date : 2015-07-27
Age : 28
Location : México DF

PostSubject: Re: Currently reading...   Thu Jul 30, 2015 10:46 am

JewelThrone wrote:
so_says_the_phoenix wrote:
JewelThrone wrote:
That is a classic.

I am going to catch up with the Stephen King The Dark Tower series. I am a few behind.

It's one of my favourite books. Smile

I never ever got into the Dark Tower series, is it recommendable?

The Dark Tower is a great series. Read those books!

Very much like Delirium_tremens and his long list of 'to listen' albums, I currently have a mountain of 'to read' books. Very Happy

But I'll definitely go out and buy them if they are well recommended.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Wintersun

avatar

Posts : 100
Join date : 2015-07-27
Age : 39
Location : Right here

PostSubject: Re: Currently reading...   Thu Jul 30, 2015 11:16 am

Dark Tower is one of the greatest series ever. Go read it.

Currenty digging through some Dean Koontz
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Cletus Awreetus-Awrightus

avatar

Posts : 36
Join date : 2015-07-27
Age : 39
Location : Leuven, Belgium

PostSubject: Re: Currently reading...   Fri Jul 31, 2015 12:06 am

I can't remember how many Dark Tower books I've read, either 3 or 4. The fact that I can't remember should be a clue as to how into them I was... I mean, I love King's storytelling, but The Dark Tower saga just doesn't really seem to do it for me, for whatever reason.

I count King's It as one of my three most favouritest books ever. The Shining, The Stand (uncut), Salem's Lot, Cujo, Misery, and Pet Sematary I'd say are also must-reads.

In spite of the ridiculously long build-up - a recurring problem in his more recent publications - his recent novel Revival was pretty good. In the sense that it was saved, and then some, by its rather intense and disturbing finale.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
so_says_the_phoenix

avatar

Posts : 109
Join date : 2015-07-27
Age : 28
Location : México DF

PostSubject: Re: Currently reading...   Wed Aug 12, 2015 10:35 am

Currently reading:

El sueño eterno (The Big Sleep) - Raymond Chandler

It's exactly my style.

Pulp fiction / Noir - Check
20's - Check
New York - Check
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Currently reading...   

Back to top Go down
 
Currently reading...
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1
 Similar topics
-
» Thinking, reading a dictionary, memorizing it, normal five year old stuff...(Open, Uryuu)
» This is what women are reading?
» Error Reading Train Database File
» Surviving Antarctica Reality TV 2083 by Andrea White
» Create the Best Outfit using BABV PSI

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Mangled Music Radio :: General Discussions :: The Round Table-
Jump to: